Serve Chilled

October 27, 2009

Foggy, temperature in the 30ºs.  Chill, humid, and dark but for a nearly invisible spot of blue-white light.  I’ve covered every inch of skin with some kind of odd thin black stretchy stuff.  Helmet, headphones, a facemask, and the inherent clumsiness of gloves.  Breathe carefully, don’t fog the glasses.  Climb over, stretch, clip in, wobble.  Breathe.

Release!

You know what happens after that:  the long glide.

I’d like to pretend it was like flying, but it wasn’t.  Not really.  True, at one point in my ride I felt perfectly comfortable: my pedaling was effortless and my body — weightless.

The number machine completely failed.  My cyclometer no longer functions.  The components on my bike are slowly wearing down to dust.  New bike next year?  Not likely.  It’s a good frame, though.  We’ll see.

2 Responses to “Serve Chilled”

  1. Anne said

    If the frame is still good, just replace the worn out components. After I moved back here, I bought a mountain bike with a frame I love. Various components have worn down over time, and I’ve replaced them. Still got a great bike, going strong after 11 years. Same goes for the road bike, which I’ve had for over 20 years now. If you’re doing a lot of riding in all sorts, a bike computer won’t last more than 2-3 years. Treat your bike to some upgrades and keep enjoying it.

  2. I m really impressed with your work. I m glad to have read this article. It was a great way of putting forward your ideas on this subject I m relieved to find such good work after going through such pains in searching for the appropriate matter for my project. Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

