Bike to Work, day 31

May 20, 2009

While I was trying to beat my time, I’m still surprised I did.  I started out with no seriousness: coasting while fiddling with my headphone cables.  On the other hand, this makes sense.  If I learned one thing about racing last year it was this: don’t burn out early.  What I never figured out was this: attack every hill.  Keep your average speed up by never going slow.

0:20′57, 6.77mi
avg 19.4mph, max 27.1mph
50ºF, Odo 887.9mi
Cadence: 70-90rpm
G-Ratio: 6.5

But here I am: fastest time (by a whopping two seconds).  My first thought is “I could have done better.”

Who cares?  Enjoy it.

I had to leave my coat and leggings at work yesterday, so when I saw it was 50º out, I breathed a sigh of relief.  If it had been 38º again I’d have had to bundle up.  But instead, it is beautiful out!  Shorts and a windbreaker, visible from space.  Not a bad morning at all.

Took the bike out for a spin during lunch.  The sun was much too bright for me to stay locked up inside at my desk breathing recycled air.

0:17’24, 4.8mi
avg 16.55mph

Nothing impressive here, but this was not about impressing anyone.  It’s wonderful to be outside in this beautiful weather, even if it’s only for a short lunch break.

Sometime after lunch, I was struck with what felt like a ton of bricks.  I’m coming down with something.  Chai helped, but I still took the easy way home.  Nothing to look at here.

0:21’11, 6.48mi
avg 18.3mph, max 28.5mph
82ºF, Odo 899.2mi
Cadence: 64-104rpm

Time to cancel everything and get some sleep.

Leave a Reply

