Bike to Work, day 27

May 11, 2009

Good Morning!

0:22’32, 6.75mi
avg 18.0mph, max 32.3mph
47ºF, Odo 802.2mi
Cadence: ~80rpm

During my ride in I drafted behind a fat post office van, downhill; hence the 32mph max speed.  Too bad for the red light, I could have tailed him another mile.

Midnight Snack
After scarfing my lunch I noticed two things: the warm spring weather, 65ºF, and that I still had 20 minutes of break left.  Like stealing a midnight snack, I escaped for a few precious moments of freedom.

0:08’48, 2.67mi
avg 18.3mph, max 24.6mph
65ºF, Odo 804.8mi
Cadence: low

Since I was just out for fun, I kept my cadence low and flew around like a speed demon.  Beautiful sun,  slight breeze, the sound of thin tires on pavement.  Wind in my ears and hair, on my face.  Pavarotti in my heart.  This is bliss.

Today I am a sportscar: a tuned machine.   My acceleration is phenominal.  My top speed, unmatched.  I’m sleek black with razer thin wheels.  I broke my record today by one full minute!

Today:
0:18’58, 6.74mi
avg 21.3mph, max 33.1mph
65ºF, Odo 811.6mi
Cadence: ~85rpm
Previous best, March 31:
0:19′50, 6.76mi
avg 20.4mph, max 32.3mph
53°F, Odo 230.8mi
Cadence: 70-90rpm

Two green lights at major intersections helped.  No traffic at the turn at the bottom of the hill.  I was full on the wrong side of the road, sweeping a super wide arc to the opposite curb, cutting deep between potholes, maintaining as much speed as (in)humanly possible.

Today I am untouchable.  Woohoo!!

Leave a Reply

