Bike to Work, day 18: Lazy

April 13, 2009

Apologies for the briefness of my recent posts.  I’ve been busy.

Saturday’s test was a huge success.  I’m so proud of my team-mates!

Today’s ride was largely unmotivated.  Regardless, I felt I did better than this:

0:23′50, 6.78mi
avg 17.0mph, max 28.3mph
33°F, Odo 317.6mi
Cadence: 70-80rpm

Only 17mph?  Really?  I can do better, even in the cold.

Let’s be honest here.  I’m focused on other things right now.  I have this huge test looming ahead at the karate studio, something I’ve been anticipating for years.  I’ve been getting ready for years.

Not that I don’t enjoy the bike, I still love it.  I’m just not motivated to kill myself every morning.  Until I pass this test, sometime in May, I’m allowing myself some lazy morning rides.

Now that was better!

0:20′06, 6.77mi
avg 20.2mph, max 31.6mph
53°F, Odo 324.3mi
Cadence: 80rpm

20mph I can justify. And at only 50º!  I’m hoping by the time it’s 70 in the mornings that my average speed will be astronmical.

Leave a Reply

