Bike to Work, day 10

March 30, 2009

Today’s rain provided useful insight into how my leggings and shoe-covers should interact.  My soaking wet socks and shoes will remind me which direction keeps the water out of my shoes.

Yesterday I took a huge nap then couldn’t get back to sleep for the rest of the night.  Yes, I set an alarm.  So I spent the last 6 hours before my regular wakeup time awake.  I played a bit of cello.  Finally I gave up and read a book from 2am until about 4am, when I tried sleep again.

my 5:20am alarm took it’s time, probably because I did not sleep.

The ride was effortless:

0:21’34, 6.19???
avg 17.2mph, max 29.8mph
41°F, Odo 210.5mi
Cadence: 70-80rpm
*rain

I thought 21’34 seemed a bit low for the effort I put in!  No wonder.

0:20′35, 6.78
avg 19.8mph, max 29.7mph
44°F, Odo 217.3mi
Cadence: 70-80rpm
*rain

I am completely unable to describe how I beat my fastest time this year, and yet still had traffic problems, rain, and a total lack of sleep.  It must be the temperature.

Leave a Reply

