Bike to Work: day 8

March 25, 2009

I went from barely crawling out of bed to this:

  • 50 pushups,
  • 40 situps,
  • 5 pullups (pausing at the critical point half way up and half way down, each time)

and this:

0:23’16, 6.75mi
avg 17.4mph, max 30.1mph
24°F, Odo 183.6mi
Cadence: 85rpm

During the ride I was very mindful of not moving my head.  I’m trying to keep the wind from going down my neck.  My hat was pulled down and tucked into my glasses.  Gloves carefully tucked into my coat.  Shirts carefully tucked into my weather-proof pants, in turn tucked into my shoe-covers.  Not more than a shred of skin exposed, by my eyes.

This doesn’t make for a particularly pleasant ride, however.  I wasn’t really having a good time.  And then something happened.

I shifted gears and pushed down a long gradual hill.  Suddenly I was flying again.  I kept a debate in my head about weather or not I’d have time for a full shower, weather or not I should get very sweaty.  While the debate never finished, I pushed and worked and flew.  And I was having a good time again!

Not a bad turnout for a grouchy, cold, grumbling, unmotivated morning.

On the ride home I pushed from the start, and as I remember from last year, that never works.  Still I got some great speed down, but lost a bunch of time to traffic, again.  I’m thinking I’ll just pull the clock before that stupid intersection.

0:20’59, 6.77mi
avg 19.3mph, max 31.0mph
54ºF, Odo 190.3mi
Cadence: 80s

Still, that wasn’t bad at all! And after the ride I did 10 pullups, paused, then another 5. I would have done more but my roommate was sleeping and I didn’t want to wake him up.  It’s a collapsable staircase and it makes a bunch of noise when I’m opening and closing it.

Wow fifty degrees outside!  What a beautiful day!

One Response to “Bike to Work: day 8”

  1. Anne said

    It’s so cool to have those moments when mundane moments transform into pleasure. I’m having a bit of tht now – writing from the train, being able to catch up on blogs & emails on the fly. Samsung Omnia, my new toy, has brightened my day.

Leave a Reply

