Bike to Work: day 5

March 20, 2009

Today’s victory had nothing to do with numbers: not how many times I pedaled per minute, nor my average speed, not even how long it took to get here.  Today’s victory was simply rolling out of bed.

I went to bed earlier by 30 minutes and tried to get up 10 minutes earlier.  The combination failed completely.  I snoozed forever, and was almost ready to give up on the day when one thought saved me:

It’s Friday, I’ve cycled every day this week.  Am I going to quit the first time things get difficult? NO!

I did some pushups and crunches.  Not many, but I still did something.  The ride was a joke.  I pushed and pushed and came up short.

0:23’35, 6.77mi (week 61.01)
avg 17.2mph, max 28.5mph
30ºF, Odo 112.0mi
Cadence: Poor

It feels good to push harder, slower.  I know it’s not optimal.  I know I need to change, and that struggling for 90rpm cadence will make me a better cyclist.  That doesn’t make it fun. On the other hand, pushing like a chump and coming in slow isn’t fun either.

Familiarity is comfort.  Comfort does not encourage change.  This morning I needed comfort over speed.  And that’s okay once in a while, if I’m aware of it and don’t let it become a habit.

Rocked this ride home!

0:20’58, 6.77mi (week 67.79!)
avg 19.4mph, max 32.1mph
41ºF, Odo 118.8mi
Cadence: Not bad

I had to wait for one red light, but not for the other.  I pushed the whole time (except at the top of a hill.  Once i’ve climbed it and start rolling, I stop pushing.  Yes, I know I need to fix that).  The protein bar before my ride helped.  Simply put: I had energy for the whole ride.

Leave a Reply

