Bike to Work: day 4

March 19, 2009

It couldn’t last.  Still, I at least matched yesterday’s time.  It could have been cold legs (no tights!) or the 50 pushups and 40 crunches I did before the ride, or that I burned my toast.

0:22′54, 6.77mi (week 47.44)
avg 17.7mph, max 28.0mph
44ºF, Odo 84.8mi
Cadence:  Miserable

For the effort I put in I’m surprised it wasn’t faster, but I really shouldn’t complain.  I blame the toast.

In other awesome news, my fixie junker idea just became a bit more real.  I found this amazing site: Urban Velo’s Singlespeeds for 2009 which has several pre-built singlespeed bikes for under $500, and several for more.  and more.

I’m currently ogling the Oso bike:

Simply Sexy

Simply Sexy

Exciting!

*note: this bike may not be the one.  First Impressions.

Sorry for the late update, after my ride home I needed a nap and was not impressed with my ride time:

0:22′16, 6.79mi (week 54.23)
avg 18.3mph, max 28.6mph
44ºF, Odo 105.2mi
Cadence:  Meh

I blame traffic.

So in the review of the Osobike, they mention two problems: they used a mountainbike crank (meaning i cannot adjust that chainring to be larger) and that the chain is not lined up properly.

Honestly, I probably will never need to put a BIGGER chainring on that, but the chain not lining up does bother me.  And I don’t know how to fix it.

It also seems that I wouldn’t be able to put cross tires on, which defeats the purpose of the bike.

2 Responses to “Bike to Work: day 4”

  1. The chainline issue is easy enough to fix…just install a shorter bottom bracket spindle. That costs extra money, though, and shouldn’t HAVE to be done to a brand-new bike.

    Cross tires will definitely NOT fit in this frame. There’s just barely enough room for smooth-treaded 28s.

  2. james said

    nice blog – I’m a regular bike commuter here in Denver and love it – 9 mile good ride each day and wouldn’t have it any other way.

    cheers – james…

Leave a Reply

