Bike to Work: day 1

March 16, 2009

Look who’s here!  I biked in!  This is very exciting for several reasons:

  • I get a workout, minimize my carbon footprint, avoid traffic stress, all while commuting.
  • Morning workouts set my day off on the right foot: I have more energy and an unflappable good mood, all day.
  • I feel cool regardless of the tights, strong, fast, healthy, etc.

Day 1 numbers:

0:25’01, 6.77mi
avg 16.2mph, max 25.9mph
35ºF, Odo 57.7mi
Cadence: sub-par

Must remember to stretch before and after riding.

Like I said above, biking to work makes me feel healthy and strong.  I also feel mentally strong.  It takes willpower to get up early and push yourself.

Now maybe I’m the only person on the block who gets excited to leave the house at 6am in tights and a helmet.  Maybe I’m the only person who’s content while pushing up a hill, just to get to work.  I don’t mind that.  The alternative is burning gas while sitting in a big metal box, half asleep and freezing cold.

I don’t know about you, but when I’m half asleep commuting to work is misery.  I’m not fond of laziness, I enjoy movement.  It’s good to get up off my butt now and then.  I’d rather stay off it more often than not.

Don’t get me wrong: I like sleeping in and spending the day in my Pajamas just as much as anyone else, maybe even more so, but I’m not going to trudge to work in a bathrobe and slippers with a coffee mug and sleep under my desk.  Let’s just say I’m more productive when I bike in.

Yes, I go to bed earlier.  Yes, it takes longer than driving to work.  But I’m healthier.  That is so much more valuable.

This morning I felt the chill air and it excited me.  I didn’t feel cold, I felt reminiscent: reminded of triumphs over cold last year.  I hastened on my way, excited because I had already overcome the biggest hurdle of the day: I was already on the bike!  I passed a house burning firewood and it smelled wonderful.

Here’s to a great start of the day!

I pushed home and somehow made excellent time, in spite of not having any real food.  I did drink water all day, though.

0:22’23, 6.77mi (week 13.55mi)
avg 18.2mph, max 29.4mph
43ºF, Odo 64.5mi
Cadence: 85-90 Sub-par

That’s an amazing time for first day back!

Leave a Reply

