Gear Test: Cold Rain

February 22, 2009

It was pouring rain outside today, and cold too, but the new jacket was great for keeping the weather out, as I knew it would be.  I had no trouble with the rubber pants either, though they were wet inside, it didn’t seem to be a problem.

The only problem was my ankles.  Since my boots are waterproof I just tucked the pant legs over and got moving out into the cold rain.

Very soon water was pouring down into my boots and I was not at all entertained.  After some impromptu tugging and unzipping, I decided to just finish the ride and figure out a solution later.

I still don’t have one.  My Trek is in the shop for maintenance.  I have a solution for that: booties over bike shoes.  But the booties aren’t designed to fit over my boots, and that seems silly for a number of reasons.  I’m not too worried, though.

Also, today’s trip for groceries on the winter bike confirmed that it is just fine for the task at hand.  Maybe I’ll get studded tires at some point, for a bit more turning confidence, but other than that the gearing is just right for a quick 4 mile trip to the grocery store.

One Response to “Gear Test: Cold Rain”

  1. Barb said

    Can you string a drawstring into the hems of the pants? Then you could snug them up around the outside of the boots and not have to tuck them in.

Leave a Reply

