I Like My Toes

November 23, 2008

Today I woke up motivated.  I woke up and saw the beautiful morning light on my cello.  I did 50 pushups, 50 crunches, and rode my bike.  Before I really started, I bought some ambfib tights.  My legs don’t feel cold at all!

0:47’56, 13.13mi
avg 16.4mph, max 36.0mph
29ºF, Odo 2720.2mi
Cadence: 85+rpm

I am disappointed in everything about this ride, mostly because I didn’t get to put in the effort I wanted.  I came home early because of my feet.  My legs were loving the new tights, as goofy as they look, they work.  Unfortunately, my shoes let all the heat out and my feet were cold unfeeling blocks attached to my ankles.  I cut the 20 mile ride short at one of the loopback points and I’m glad I did.  There are pains I push through, things that make me stronger after.  This isn’t one of them.  I like my toes.

Now I’m sitting in my living room with mulled cider and a cold fireplace.  I’m thinking about practicing Handel’s Bourrée on cello.  iTunes is playing Gnarles Barkley – Crazy.  It’s a good day.

Leave a Reply

