Bike to Work, day 111

November 12, 2008

Today the struggle was to get going.  I managed to get out of  bed, albeit late, but then couldn’t seem to get my act together and get out the door.  Today was one of those mornings where I thought to myself i don’t want to be cold so i wore a thicker shirt under the space windbreaker.

That wasn’t enough.

I didn’t wear the giant sunglasses either, and the area around my eyes stung in the wind.  My eyes themselves seem slow when there is cold air blowing on them, drying them out.

0:26’27, 6.74mi (33.79 week)
avg 15.3mph, max 23.8mph
34ºF, Odo 2686.8mi
Cadence: Whatever.

I made it, and that weekly milage was my only grudging motivation.

Now then, maybe I have a reason to be so tired this morning:  Last night I passed my step exam at the karate studio.  Yes!  In the next few months I’ll be testing for 3rd degree black belt.  YAY!

Today was the kind of day where it may have been a better idea to stay in bed.

The ride home was late with late dressing and some late on the side with an appetizer of late followed by late for dessert.  Hence dinner at 10pm, and why I am writing this post at 11:38pm

0:23’30, 6.77mi (40.57 week)
avg 17.2mph, max 26.4mph
42ºF, Odo 2693.5mi
Cadence: not bad.

It felt much, much colder on the ride home.  It certainly was darker.

And now to bed with me.  Hopefully I’ll get up in time to bike to work tomorrow.  Wish me luck, I’ll need it!

One Response to “Bike to Work, day 111”

  1. Jeanne Lachance said

    Yah, Paul, What a guy you are. I love you, Your very own Memere xxx

Leave a Reply

