I’ve Missed You

November 9, 2008

My calculations show I missed 12 days. At 13.52 a day, that’s 162.24 miles. Well I set aside some time today to ride, but not that much time. Still, I’m going to get out and ride today. I haven’t planned a route, but I have an idea.

My idea had been 50 miles, but after 15 I knew that wasn’t going to happen.  I stopped at a tiny cemetery, ate my monster peanutbutter and jelly sandwich, and read the stones.  The oldest was 1815.

As I ate my sandwich, a cyclist past on his own 20mi route, and asked if I needed assistance.  I thanked him, and let him know I was ok.  Another pair of cyclists passed, drafting.  I waved, but they barely seemed to notice.  They were working.

Still, it was a good ride.  I started with the idea that I’d buy some leggings when I passed the bike shop, unless my legs felt ok.  My legs felt fine, I didn’t stop.  I brought a windbreaker but never wore it.  I only had bike shorts and a long sleeve techwick shirt.  Unfortunately this shirt fits loosely, creating drag.  Though I felt a bit chilly the whole time, it was only when a big cloud covered the sun that I started to worry.  The cloud passed, I warmed up in the sunlight.

The hills were killer.  Though I never broke 500ft, my total climb was 1669ft, and it hurt.  I never used the granny gear.

1:44’37, 30.48mi
avg 17.4mph, max 43.5mph
50-55ºF, Odo 2653.0mi
Cadence: 86rpm

Leave a Reply

