Bike to Work, day 108

November 3, 2008

Thank you standard time!  It’s nice to ride in with some amount of light.  Unfortunately, I managed to change the time on my cateye, and that reset the morning ride.  Woops!

0:00’00, 6.75mi
avg 0.0mph, max 0.0mph
23ºF, Odo 2615.7mi
Cadence 74, 84, 90rpm

Interestingly, I found that biking at 74rpm is quite comfortable when you’re totally bundled up.  On that note: my ankles were exposed, and thus, cold.  After warming up (5 miles) I brought my cadence up to par, completely neglecting my speed, however.  This was a sloooow morning.

I over-layered.  I was cold in my thermal so I added an insulated windbreaker, with the visible-from-space green coat over it all.  Heavy gloves, face mask, big sunglasses, ski pants over sweats, I was interested in staying warm, and I did.  Once I arrived, I was far too warm to be comfortable.  I stuffed the face mask in my shirt before the ride was over, but it wasn’t actually annoying yet: sometimes gets wet and gross.  Before locking the bike, I pulled off the coats and noticed my breath seemed to hang in the air a long time.  I thought for a moment that it was my breath, but then I noticed:  My arms are steaming. Woah!

I saw one of my co-workers as I rode in and thought “What’s that crazy person doing out in this weather?”  Obviously, she was thinking the same thing.  When I met up with her inside she said “Wow, you were flying!”  Aww, shucks =)

0:22’17, 6.77mi (13.52 day)
avg 18.2mph, max 29.8mph
52ºF, Odo 2622.5mi
Cadence 90rpm

more later!

Leave a Reply

