Bike to Work, day 106: Not Dead Yet

October 29, 2008

This morning’s numbers mean nothing, since I only started the timer half a mile into the ride.  Regardless:

0:21’27, 6.47mi
avg 18.1mph, max 26.4mph
38ºF, Odo 2588.7mi
Cadence: not bad (80’s)

Clearly, the big challenge has been to get out on the bike!  Walking around at work proves to be very taxing, leaving me exhausted at the end of the day and sleeping in the next morning.  It’s remarkable that I biked in today, since I had karate last night and got to bed late.  I would have been ready to ride in yesterday but it rained and I still don’t have all the gear I need (coat, pants).  I know the coat I want, but I have no idea what to do for pants.  Do I want the skintight wetsuit type pants or loose fitting skipants?  The helmet is dorky enough, but am I prepared to look like a seal on top of that?

0:21’40, 6.76mi (26.99 two day total)
avg 18.7mph, max 31.1mph
41ºF, Odo 2595.4mi
Cadence: not bad (80’s)

Phew! I’m home after what feels like the coldest after-work ride since March, but I’m still marking today as a huge success.  I’m shocked that all I needed for today’s chill weather of 38-41ºF was a single wicking shirt and a windbreaker.  No insulation needed.  I missed my hat on the ride home, my bald head and ears still hurt.  Regardless, great success!

Now for a shower and some much needed cello practice.

Leave a Reply

