Bike to Work, day 91: Brr!

September 19, 2008

This morning I did everything right.  A reasonable amount of snoozing before showering, getting into warm clothes, making toast and preparing breakfast/lunch.  I remembered to bring everything, and nearly left on time, for what it matters.  I didn’t push myself too hard, it was a good ride in.

24:47, 6.4mi
41ºF, Odo 2381mi
avg 15.6mph, max 25.7mph

It’s funny, really, how caught up I get.  faster faster faster faster faster! Please.  It’s 6am and 41ºF.  Most people are still in bed, some are in their warm cars.  I’m on a bicycle, and I love it.  relax, enjoy the ride I tell myself.  I tried to focus on other things than my current time, such as debunking the thought that I was miserable. what part of me is actually cold? Face, Butt(?!), Ankles, Feet, but none badly.  It was the idea of cold, not actual pain or discomfort.  I looked up at the trees and sky for inspirations of beauty, the view was not lacking.

Two miles into my ride, I felt my body start to sweat.  It’s a sharp feeling; it reminds me of they way a match flares up after you light it.  Almost instantly my face was no longer cold.  Four miles into the ride I unzipped the jacket a few inches to cool my chest.  By the time I arrived, my hands were cold but I was sweating in other places.  Why are my hands cold? I have windproof gloves…  Maybe I need glove liners.  My head was nice and comfy warm the whole time, thanks to my new hat!

21:30, 6.5mi
59ºF, Odo 2388mi
avg 18.0mph, max 28.8mph

Phew!  What a week!

Leave a Reply

