Bike to Work, day 89: Fog

September 17, 2008

Not enough sleep.

23:37, 6.4mi
48ºF, Odo 2355mi
avg 16.4mph, max 28.4mph

This was not the foggiest ride I’ve ever done, but it is certainly noteworthy.  It’s a good thing I bought that new shirt, it was perfect this morning.

I pushed up every hill, but lacked the energy I had on Monday.

19:36, 6.4mi
72ºF, Odo 2362mi
avg 19.8mph, max 34.0mph

This is by no means a bad time.  Average speed 19.8mph compared to my goal of 21mph.  That’s just 1mph difference!  Actually, it’s sixty seconds.

It’s like I have this one best time and then a bunch of second best times that all end up about one minute slower.  What can I do to bridge the gap?

My Best Guess
Eat a fulfilling meal every night; go to bed on time; wake up on time.  Shower and eat a full pbj; take in OJ and water; stretch before the ride.  This will put me mentally into the game, and give me the physical energy to fly.  For the ride home: energy bar, water and stretch, quick mental decompression before leaving.

Leave a Reply

