Take Five

September 15, 2008

Naked Twenty
This was an awesome ride!  I shed my bag, my shirt, grabbed some hammer gel, Gatorade, and hit the road hard.  It’s a naked twenty because I hydrated first then took nothing with me but the bike and shorts.  (Well, I had my saddle bag with a spare tube, CO2 pump, and chain tool, too.  I’m not that crazy!)

Yesterday’s hilly route was the target, and I attacked every hill, either standing on the pedals or pushing/pulling while seated.  My goal was to dominate: no sympathy.  No poor legs, no poor me, no “wahh it hurts” nothing!  Just determination.  Look at the difference!

Today
1:00:32, 19.7mi
81ºF, Odo 2336mi
avg 19.5mph, max 38.5mph
Total Climbing: 1192ft
Yesterday
1:05:03, 19.8mi
73ºF, Odo 2303mi
avg 18.2mph, max 39.2mph
Total Climbing: 1192ft

I took five minutes off the time!

After yesterday’s ride, my legs felt likely to buckle while walking downstairs, today my legs feel taxed but steady, even though I did 6.5 more miles before this!  Wow!

Leave a Reply

