Bike to Work, day 85

September 9, 2008

This morning’s ride was glorious.  I ate, stretched, and put the hammer down!  New record, here I come!  The new chainring worked beautifully.  I hit 30 on a very light downward grade early in the ride.  Sadly, the front tire flattened out slowly, and halfway up the Obnoxious Overpass the rim started hitting the ground.  I walked the last 2 miles.  Ugh!

15:05, 4.8mi
61ºF, Odo 2263mi
avg 19.0mph, max 31.6mph
*Flat tire

My average speed of 19.0 isn’t a record breaker, but I was powering up the Housebroken Hill at a good clip, with plenty left to push with.  Add another downhill and some flats, and you’ve got 20mph easy.  That’s a record.  Here’s hoping I can break 18min after work!

19:14, 6.5mi
70ºF, Odo 2270mi
avg 20.2mph, max 33.9mph

So close!  I made two mistakes:  The first was not stretching.  The second was pushing hard down Housebroken Hill, I had to push up the next hill while regaining strength, and that just doesn’t work.  Still, great speed.

Leave a Reply

