Intermission

August 20, 2008

I’m still limping, but it’s better than yesterday.  I expect to be back on the bike by Friday or Saturday.  Until then, I will practice cello and dream about my winter bike.  Thank you Fatty for taunting me with your Christmas present.  I am so jealous!

Maybe I haven’t mentioned this before, but when I feel bummed out or stressed, I get the urge to ride my bike.  Right now I’m bummed about not being able to ride.  Thus, my body tells me it wants to go ride;  specifically to the bike shop, to buy a new tire, tube, and to order this bike.  This is part retail therapy, but mostly my own brand of movement therapy.  Moving makes me feel good, be it dancing or cycling or karate.  I’m fighting off the urge to splurge by paying bills.

After repaying a bit of college, I rode to the bike shop.  I was curious how much my leg would hurt and I needed to pickup a new tube, tire.  Don’t worry, it’s only .7 miles away.  I found I’ll have to cough up 50% of the bike to order it, and that’s non-refundable.  Here’s hoping they pick a size that fits!  While riding to the shop, I discovered my leg hurts less riding my bike than it does walking. Great! Tomorrow I will ride in–carefully.  That means I’ll hit my goal of Two Thousand Miles on Friday.  Wow!

One Response to “Intermission”

  1. Jeanne Lachance said

    What happened to your leg?? Let me know how you feel. Your very own Memere x x x

Leave a Reply

