Rain

August 12, 2008

Monday after work, while driving home I thought “Hmm, maybe the bike shop finished my bike early, since I’m driving past on my way home, I’ll just stop in an ask.  No harm in that!”

I did, and it was!

You can guess what I did after that =)

I estimate that I rode about 20 miles, however I seemed to have misplaced 5 miles of it.  This could be because I was sucked through a wormhole, or possibly my cyclometer was unseated for a while.  I’ll let you decide.

Fortunately it only started spitting rain on my way home.  I tucked my ipod and other junk under my arm and continued on.  After getting home the sky opened up.  Once again I was lucky to avoid the rain.

The bike feels fantastic.  It shifts like a breeze, the breaks are super responsive.  In fact, the breaks are almost TOO responsive.  Perhaps I lost those five miles while being abducted by aliens who somehow implanted a mind-reading AI into my bike.  Or maybe the bike guys just pulled the slack out of my break cables.  But where’s the fun in that?

Anyway I made it home all smelly and happy. =)

On Monday when I picked up the bike, I had been very excited to get back to biking to work.  This morning it’s cold and raining.  I don’t have rain gear, and simply cannot find the motivation to ride in to work today.  The downers far outweigh the benefits.  Once I get to work, after the soaking cold ride, I’ll have to hang everything out to dry in my cube in a somewhat inconspicuous way (there is no such way).  Once I’ve finished my 8 hours of technical support, I’ll put the cold, wet clothes back on and ride home (probably in the rain again).  If I had proper waterproof gear: just a coat and pants, I wouldn’t even hesitate.  I’d like to have a helmet cover and gloves.  On any given day (take last night’s ride for example) I can generate enough heat to keep myself comfortable.  Monday’s afternoon ride was shirtless, but I never felt cold.  It’s probably not as bad as I’m making it out to be, but the benefit just isn’t there today.

After work the sun was out, and I had about an hour to ride, but a thunderstorm shook the sky and rained on my parade.  I chose to practice Kenpo techniques instead.  The hour is over and there’s still no rain.  I’ll take this as a lesson.  Next time just get going.  Oh well, time to go teach.

2 Responses to “Rain”

  1. DKM said

    You might look into some ultra thin skins to wear. My uncle uses those to surf and then hop on the bike to work.

  2. […] Milk, a não ser seu condenome e que atualmente mora… Saved by romcquill on Wed 24-12-2008 Rain Saved by AlmightymDot on Tue 16-12-2008 Nathan’s First Flat! Saved by Henriatta2468 on Tue […]

Leave a Reply

