Love

August 5, 2008

By now you’ve probably noticed I love riding my bike.  As far as stress relievers go, it’s the greatest.  It’s freedom. The more I ride, the more endurance I gain to ride more.  Since I’ve started riding I’ve extended my range from just a few miles to fifty, and I’m working on extending that to a hundred.  I’m in control, I can go as fast as my legs will take me or as slow as I want, to take in the beautiful world around me.  I can even stop(!) and talk to people!  Imagine that.

To be honest, I live in one of the most beautiful, scenic parts of the world.  We’ve got all four seasons here:   bright spring, sunny hot summer, perfect amazing beautiful autumn, and the crisp cold snowy winter.  It’s been my home for quite some time, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.  California seems nice, but I’ll take a predictable blizzard over an unpredictable deadly earthquake any day.  Falling snow can be peaceful, quiet, and meditative.  In fact, I’d pick snow over unbearable summers, tornadoes, hurricanes, active volcanoes, and any other natural disaster you can think of.

I’m not burning any fossil fuels, I’m not creating harmful emissions that hurt this wonderful planet, and I get infinity to the gallon.  It’s (nearly) free to ride, and oh so freeing.  People think I’m crazy for riding my bike.  Gas is $4 a gallon.  Who’s crazy?

When I’m riding my bike I feel like I’m flying, soaring through the world.  It’s just so open.  If I feel frustrated or if I’m having a bad day, I long to ride my bike to relieve my stress.  And what stress relief!  I’ve learned not to let my anger get the better of me, because all that hard hammering on the pedals may speed me up but will not take me as far as a longer measured push.  I’ve also learned to make the best of a slight descent, and that I’m built for hills.  This is moving meditation.  What a great place to put your anger, fears: into the rhythmical pedals, turning gears and wheels of a bicycle.  Let it take you places.  Leave your cage behind and open yourself up to the world.

2 Responses to “Love”

  1. Love said

    […] Read the rest of this great post here […]

  2. Mom said

    What a great description of why you ride. It’s just terrific. I know precisely what you are feeling. I’m happy reading this, and I know you are happy too.

    xxx…

Leave a Reply

